EPFL General Assembly

1.EPFL General Assembly, Manchester, 27 March 2012
EPFL General Assembly, Manchester, 27 March 2012

EPFL joins World League Association as Founding Member
The EPFL Member Leagues have unanimously supported the formation of the World League Association and gave green light for the EPFL to become its founding member. The decision was taken at the European Leagues General Assembly held in Manchester on 27 March 2012.
On the occasion, the EPFL Leagues had the opportunity to discuss several other matter of extreme significance for the further development of professional football at European and Global level. In addition, the General Assembly ratified the new Memorandum of Understanding with UEFA as well the Autonomous Agreement on the minimum requirements for players/clubs standard contracts whose signature will take place on 19 April 2012 in Brussels under the auspices of the European Commission.

UEFA-EPFL Memorandum of Understanding 2012 
During the UEFA Congress, held in Istanbul on XX March, the EPFL and UEFA have signed a renewed Memorandum of Understanding. On the occasion, the two organisation have reiterated their mutual desire and commitment to continue to develop their close relationship, which has produced a number of concrete benefits for the development of football over a number of years.

World League Association
The World League Association has been officially launched and declared by the appointment of the first five founding Members, namely The Association of European Professional Football Leagues (EPFL), The South African Premier Soccer League in Africa, Major League Soccer (MLS) in America, The Thai Professional League in Asia and The United Arab Emirates League in the Middle East.  This historical step was given just few hours before the EPFL General Assembly.

World League Association, founding members
World League Association, founding members

The Board of Directors of the new World League Association would consist of eleven Members, six from the EPFL and the remaining five from the other founding Members. They will be Sir David Richards (Chairman of The Premier League), Frédéric Thiriez (President of the French League), Sergey Pryadkin (President of the Russian League), José Luis Astiazaran (President of the Spanish League), Frank Rutten (CEO of the Dutch League), Claus Thomsen (CEO of the Danish League), Dr. Irvin Khoza (Chairman South African Premier Soccer League), Don Garber (Commissioner of  MLS), Worawi Makudi (President of The Thai Professional League), Yousef Yaqoob Al Serkal (Chairman of the United Arab Emirates League) plus another Member to be elected by non-European Leagues. Emanuel Macedo de Medeiros (Chief Executive Officer of the EPFL) was elected Chief Executive Officer of the new organisation.

European Social Dialogue: Autonomous Agreement EPFL-FIFPro-ECA-UEFA 
Culminating years of intensive and difficult negotiations, the four Parties of the European Social Dialogue (i.e., the social partners EPFL, FIFPro and ECA and the associate party UEFA) have finally reached consensus on the so-called Autonomous Agreement on the minimum requirements on players’ standard contracts.

To this end, FIFPro’s acceptance of the conditions imposed by the EPFL was vital, i.e. the explicit recognition that in the following countries the minimum contractual requirements foreseen in the Autonomous Agreement were already dully implemented: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Therefore, the cited countries shall be ‘exempted’ from implementing the Autonomous Agreement.  Under those conditions, accepted by all Parties, the Autonomous Agreement which was ratified by the EPFL General Assembly.

Curtis Martin and Jennie Enterprise from INK Group with EPFL Chairman Sir David Richards
Curtis Martin and Jennie Enterprise from INK Group with EPFL Chairman Sir David Richards

EPFL-INK Group Partnership Programme
The EPFL has proudly announced a Partnership Agreement with INK Group LLC, an influential holding company working in the marketing and insurance sectors and based in New York, USA. This Agreement embodies a series of Marketing benefits for the EPFL and his Member Leagues, and shall run for a minimum period of three years. INK Group was represented by Curtis Martin, Jennie Enterprise, Daniel Rabia and other senior representatives.

Election for the Board of Directors

Edmond Isoz, newly-elected Member of the EPFL Board of Directors
Edmond Isoz, newly-elected Member of the EPFL Board of Directors

Edmond Isoz, Director of the Swiss Football League, was elected as new member of the Board of Directors of the EPFL. He will accumulate such capacity with the vice-chairmanship of the EPFL Committee on Competition Matters

Click here for more EPFL News >

Back to All News