EPFL Appoints Representatives to UEFA Strategy Council

EPFL LogoThe Association of European Professional Leagues (EPFL) has elected its representatives to the UEFA Professional Football Strategy Council (PFSC). The election took place during the EPFL General Assembly held in Vienna last Friday, 08 July 2011:

The EPFL representatives for the term 2011-2013 shall be:

  • Frédéric Thiriez (Deputy Chairman of the EPFL and President of the French LFP);
  • José Luis Astiazarán (President of the Spanish Professional Football League and Member of the EPFL Board);
  • Frank Rutten (CEO of the Dutch Eredivisie and Member of the EPFL Board); and
  • Holger Hieronymus (COO of the DFL Bundesliga and Member of the EPFL Board)

They will be joined by the EPFL CEO, Emanuel Macedo de Medeiros , at the first meeting of the new two-year term, which will be held in Monaco on occasion of the 2011 UEFA Super Cup.
The PFSC is composed by the UEFA President and Vice-Chairmen, representatives of the European Professional Football Leagues (EPFL), clubs participating in the UEFA Competitions (ECA) and players’unions recognised by UEFA (FIFPro).

The Professional Football Strategy Council was created to assist the development of the game in Europe and addresses all European professional football related matters. Additionally, it is responsible for enhancing cooperation between the members of the European football family, taking in due consideration the interests and concerns of the major stakeholders of European football.

Click here for more EPFL Media Releases >

Back to All News